The importance of being

Good Afternoon all

What do I do with myself now?  I stare at this blank space with an equally blank mind.  This is not me at all – while setting this page up I was sure to have about 10 topics I wanted to hit on.  Yet now as I sit here listening to Place de la Republique (Coeur de Pirate) through my huge black Sony headphones aimlessly looking out of the window onto the quiet, sunny street beyond my double glazing, I sigh, no longer holding ideas; just being, and savouring the sounds of Beatrice Martin.

I feel rather tentative, though I’m sure this blank page will eventually become my best friend.  You see, whenever I write into my diary I begin, unsure of what to write, my pen scratching over the paper unwillingly, almost. However once I get halfway though I am furiously scribbling the worlds down before I forget – all of my innermost thoughts come pouring out and there is nothing that can stop it happening – ‘the page is my best friend’ – it whispers secretly to me.

I’d like to begin by saying a warm welcome to Autumn.  This season has to be my favourite time of year.  Something eerie yet enticing about the turn in the weather.  I love it all – the bitter chill in the morning, your world bathed in ghostly shades of grey from the overcast sky, the crunch of red, gold, yellow and brown leaves beneath knee high boots.  I adore Autumn fashion – plums, charcoals, petrol blues, deeper shades that as a blonde, I can’t get away with but love regardless.  The jackets, stripy scarves, skinny jeans, long sleeved jumpers – in heavy cord, thick crochet, luxurious cashmere, gothic lace and rich crushed velvet.

Of course, I may be slightly biased for my love of Autumn as it is my Birthday season – October.  Less so lately as next month I turn 27 and if I’m honest, I’m not looking forward to it one bit!  Then comes Halloween, my favourite day of the year.  I’m not a gore fest girl, not really one to be scared out of my skin…  I’ve always wanted to host a real Halloween House Party; but not with those pathetic plastic pumpkins and paper skeletons…  I mean with wine served in gothic style chalices, stone gravestones propped in the front garden, cobwebs weaved over the wrought iron candlesticks and waiters milling around with silver trays looking as though they just arose from the grave.  The costumes would be classic Halloweenesque and the make up second to none, pallid and ghostly.

What are your plans this Halloween?  Tell me your ideas!

Until next time

Kels

x

Leave a Reply

