Filofax Personal Malden V’s Filofax Personal Osterley

Good Morning!

I’m back and armed with so much stuff to get through today, I may have to spread it over a couple of posts – you lucky people!!

I promised a couple of posts ago that I would compare my Malden and my Osterley, and I actually took a few photo’s ready to show you there and then… but as you know life and ex-boyfriends get in the way and you’re forced to sort out a lot of mind warps before you can consider sitting down and actually doing something productive (like blogging, ahem…!)

So here we go, lets see if I can get through this post without being called away, eh!

First up, a snapshot of side by side comparison:

Image

 

It was a really sunny day in my living room on the day I took these photo’s – the orange of the Osterley looks pretty blinding!  My apologies!

Image

 

The Malden is a matt leather, very soft and luxurious – extremely floppy and malleable (especially when moisturised!) It has a very long clasp (so easy to fill those rings up) and the stitching really gives it that casual and long time use feel.

The Osterley is almost patent in comparison, a smooth leather with a high end stylish texture.  It is rigid and structured in comparison to the Malden’s laid back feel.  The clasp is also shorter – it’s quite a ruthless binder almost 😉

Image

 

One thing I was really surprised to find out is how much larger the Malden is to the Osterley – it doesn’t look it here, but when you have a full binder that extra little bit really is the difference to your tabs being bent due to your pens in the pen loop.  I’m not sure if I’ve ever come across any reviews mentioning this before.

But anyway – on to the interior – the Malden has all the card slots where you need them at the front – all together.  The slots are extremely supple and malleable to access your cards or items.  There is also a small shallow zip pocket and a full length pocket behind the card slots.  All are very easy to access quickly due to the soft leather.  It also means that you can (and in my case, WILL) store WAY more than you probably need so it’s very easy to overstuff.  Sometimes Malden’s don’t look right unless they are packed!  At the back of the Malden, there is a top deep pocket and a full length side pocket matching the front.  Again, very easy to over-stuff ;).  The back of the Malden comes with a full leather pen loop. 

The Osterley is a little strict when it comes to overstuffing.  It just won’t have it (unless you want to put the clasp under stress and cause the tabs to be even more bent ;).  Instead, the front of the binder believes you can only have 4 cards and one full length pocket.  They are quite sturdy so aren’t as malleable to slide cards and other items in and out of the pockets, but they are still pretty accessible.  The front of the binder comes with a part leather, part elastic pen loop which is perfect for left handers like myself, and for those that love chunky pens.  The back of the Osterley finds another 2 card slots, another full length pocket and another part leather, part elastic pen loop.

Image

 

And here is Ozzie in action!  

Next up is what is inside and how I organise my planner 🙂

Til next time – happy planning!

Toodles

Kel

 

6 thoughts on “Filofax Personal Malden V’s Filofax Personal Osterley

  1. One of the reasons I love my Malden is because of the longer strap and slightly wider width. I can stuff it like no other of my other FFs.

    • Hi Doris, you’re so right, I honestly had no idea that the Osterley was smaller than the Malden: me being naive thought that all Personals would come the same size! I knew the clasp would be shorter on the Osterley though. X

  2. I love the Osterley personal size. But I cann source one. Anywhere. I know I am a few years too late for the launch. However I have just seen my first one and fallen in love with the Osterley. Please help me. X

    • Hi Danielle
      I will take a look around and see if I can source one. The best way I’ve found to get one, is through the Facebook Filofax Website Pages. EBay sometimes have 2nd hand ones crop up time to time. To source a few others that people have asked me for help on, I’ve actually google searched “filofax Osterley blog” and whenever I’ve found a blogger talking about their Osterley, I’ve contacted them to see if they would part with it! It’s actually really effective too :).
      Where about are you based, so that I can tailor my search for you?
      X

Leave a Reply

