Filofax Week

Hi everyone!

I’ve been quiet for a while, I know… I apologise! It’s just, I’ve been mighty busy and my social life has been pretty mental etc. Not only that, but I’ve been honing my system to perfection, so now I have a great system that I use that works for me, I can finally share it!

I never understood when people said they had found their perfect setup or system. I was one of those bumbling idiots that just chucked everything in their diary then had a difficult time navigating through the scrawls, everything was everywhere and although I felt slightly more organised than without a planner, I still didn’t quite grasp the concept of having a system to suit “you”.

I mentioned a YouTube video a couple of blogs ago, and it revolutionised the way my week is viewed. I have split the page in 2: one half is a to do list for each day, the other half is colour coded and taken from my month to view tabs. More often than not, in this half I use the washi-tape “labels” that I blogged about (in one of my last posts) so that everything is visually attractive (to me, anyhow!).

I break the days of the week up by using doodles or patterns in different colours and I make the week day numbers into flowers, and the weekends/days off work/holidays etc into hearts. I use one of the smash! markers trimmed and punched for my bookmarks with a small sticky note with my colour coding system attached in case I might forget ;).

Here is this week in action so far… It’s probably the quietest week so far (which is why I’ve managed to sit and type this instead of running around Asda in my lunch break!).

20130919-133414.jpg

As you can see the last few days I’ve had a few social visits (in purple) and I’ve used a couple of the washi tape labels.

Talking of the washi tape labels, I now have the back of my diary page holding my labels so. I can attach them on the go. I printed out a few too many for just 1 page so ended up using a flyleaf I had hanging around also:

20130919-133723.jpg

And finally, here is a close up of a washi tape label in action:

20130919-133806.jpg

I did think about doing my own however a disaster occurred and my poor old Mid 2009 white MacBook decided to give up the ghost a few weeks ago, so I’ve had to sort all that out, and now I have a 2nd hand Late 2009 white Unibody MacBook that I’m slowly reloading and getting set up again. Once up and running I might have a go at a couple of my own labels: I want stuff like “Shopping” and “Cinema” and “Hair Appointment”/”Beauty Appointment”.

How are you set up and organised? Are you visually stimulated when you open your organiser?

Take care!

Kel

X

Leave a Reply

