Brand New Customised Dividers!

Hi!

Welcome to part two of tonight’s two part show…!  Ahem.

I’m really anxious and excited to show you the results of 3 nights work slaving away on my living room floor surrounded by pink pages, ideas, sticky sparkly gems and girly embellishments…!  On a personal level, I feel exhausted from trying to get out this burst of basic “creativity” that surged forward recently.  Trust me, it is a godsend, but it’s also tiring!

As you know, I got bored with the setup of my Malden and found it to be too erm… well… not girly enough for my renewed love of pink thanks to watching my Heroine of the Modern Day:  Ms Woods.

I got bored with my very basic “picture on a pre-made tab” and be done with it – I wanted something that looked interesting, creative almost, pretty and visually exciting.  Oh, and the final reason (and should be most important but I forgot until now… oops), there were far too many tabs, too much information that didn’t need to be in there and generally… it was looking too stuffed full of things I didn’t really need.

As you know from my previous posts, I removed my business cards completely…  but I also removed the “information” tab, “notes” tab, “inspiration” tab and the “A-Z” tabs.  I have a heck of a lot of space left over!  My Malden is now a Skinny Minx and itching for more information…

Anyway… without further ado… here are the new tabs:

Image 12Image 17Image 10Image 8Image 14Image 11Image 13Image 9

 

And here is the new “today” bookmark:

 

 

Image 20Image 16

Now, now that the initial photographs are up… I must show you what a grand job my laminator did of mucking up 2 of my hard worked on creations….  I admit, it’s all my fault though… I shouldn’t have gone so mad with the gems…!

The below photograph was of the front page to the diary showing the Organiser Number.  On it featured an old fashioned showbiz mirror, and all the lights were made of clear gems.  The laminator decided it would be ace to drag them away from their positions and um… halfway down the page at random.  It also ate into the lace dollie and pulled it into one heck of a weird shape 😦

 

 

Image 7

The only other problem I had was when I put 3 tabs in together to be laminated on an A4 laminating page… one of the larger gems got dragged off the original divider altogether, and ended up distorting this one 😦

 

Image 15

Apart from those 2 issues (which will be corrected when I get my steam back…!) I’m loving, loving, loving my new ‘look’!  Here is how it looks in the filo :).  The floating tabs seem to have come out really well and are visible at-a-glance, which I’m really pleased about.

frontpage

frontpage2

With all of that done, I think I can now rest peacefully until the next “surge” 😉

Have you ramped your filo lately?

Kel

x

 

4 thoughts on “Brand New Customised Dividers!

    • Hi Susan!

      Thank you so much for your kind words, they’re really appreciated.

      I wrote a post just before this one on how I make my dividers/tabs. If you look at my older posts you’ll see my “divider journey”: from stamping and sticking printouts to my pre-made tabs, to making a divider and creating my own “floating tabs” (which is what you see now).

      Generally, I take inspiration from my mood and my feelings, the weather, films that I’m really enjoying, and generally things that create that feel good factor for me.

      This time, you’ll see I feel very pretty and feminine, it’s summery, I’ve had a film fest watching LegallyBlonde to inspire me… Things like that.

      I then take a recurring theme (the drawing of the lady you see in all the tabs) and create sections around the tab name (diary, for example), to include a background, the focal point (the lady), possible ways to frame the lady, usually a bit of text, then the rest are little bits of added interest (a lace border, butterfly stickers, tiny sparkly gems, flowers… It could be anything) just to finish it off.

      It’s all about having an eye as to finding things that complement eachother… Much like decorating a room almost!

      Then it’s just a case of cutting and arranging… Then sticking into place. Once all that’s done, run it through the laminator (I usually do 3 personal size dividers per 1 A4 laminator wallet), attempt to punch the holes using the Filofax hole punch and using the ring marks I then use my normal 1 ring hole punch to pierce the laminate.

      It just takes time and patience. A lot of shopping, a lot of inspiration (try card making or craft magazines!) and virtually no skill whatsoever. Take it from someone who never did well in Art!

      Let me know how you get on, I’m intrigued!

      Kel
      X

    • Sorry Susan… The tabs!

      You mean the typed “diary, expenses, Contacts”etc?

      They’re the easiest part 🙂 I just go into a new spreadsheet, decide on a font, font colour, background colour and border… Copy the cell and place right next to it.

      I then type out all of my “tabs” the same way, and then print out.

      I cut out the 2 tabs side by side together and then fold so that I have a tab with writing back and front.

      Once I have done this, I then glue together, lay a personal size blank notepaper (which will become my divider), arrange my typed tab wherever I want it to be, get a little sticky tape (just a very little bit) and fix into place temporarily. You won’t see the tape when you’ve laminated.

      You do all of your tabs the same way, but I use the first tab as a benchmark for matching my next tab up to (spacing and the height of the floating tab).

      Hope this helps somewhat?

      Cheers 🙂

      Kel

      X

  1. First off I want to say great blog! I had a quick question in which I’d like to ask if you don’t
    mind. I was interested to know how you center yourself and clear your thoughts before writing.
    I have had a hard time clearing my thoughts in getting my ideas
    out there. I do take pleasure in writing however it just seems
    like the first 10 to 15 minutes are generally lost just
    trying to figure out how to begin. Any recommendations or tips?
    Appreciate it!

Leave a comment