Filofax Birthday Present!

The inspiration for my Halloween Filofax dividers actually came from my Best Friend, Carrie.  Or rather, my birthday present to her.

Carrie is a rock girl to heart.  She loves a bit of metal, so for my birthday present to her, I wanted it to be extremely personal and a full representation of how I see her through my eyes.  The “gorjuss” range embodies her perfectly.

Carrie began using a Filofax about a year ago, beginning with my Lavender Pocket Metropol, upgrading to a Black Personal Identity and now she is in a beautiful Holborn which I lust after!  She has always complained at her lack of creativity and how she feels her planner is very “plain”.

After meeting up with her in the week last week, she wanted to see how I plan my pages out, and I was only too glad to oblige – whipping out my monthly pages and explaining my colour coding system and how it transfers to the “inner section” of my weekly diary pages.  She seemed intrigued about the colour coding, so I rushed out to get her some erasable pens pronto for part of her birthday pack that I had been slowly building up for her.

In her birthday pack, I got her:

Washi Tapes

Uniball Phantom Pens x 5 (colourful)

Smash Today Markers

Flyleaf with Event Stickers

Notepaper with Washi Tape

Philofaxy/My Life All In One Place Month To View Pages (ready to decorate!)

Gorjuss Notelets

Gorjuss Front Page

Gorjuss Today Marker

20130926-221048.jpg

20130926-221127.jpg

20130926-221159.jpg

 

I think that was it…  I think!

Anyway, I saw her this evening to provide her present to her (and to do a shopping spree!).  I watched anxiously as she opened her little bundle, but she seemed delighted, especially with the gorjuss items (phew!).  In fact, she was so happy, that she wanted a go at doing her own dividers herself!  We ended up shooting up to The Range and purchasing another bumper pack for her to take home and have a go at making her own dividers etc.

I had never felt so happy than seeing her creative spirit coming to life around the Arts & Crafts section.  My own little limited creative mind had been squashed for years, and decorating my planner is my outlet.  I cannot describe what a thrill comes over me when I open my planner.  Smug Satisfaction, call it what you want – but I feel proud of what I have achieved – something that is personal to ME – there will be no other like it.  The fact I’ve slaved for 8 hours non-stop over dividers and today markers makes me appreciate my own planner all the more.  I think if you haven’t done it yourself you can’t truly begin to imagine the process of creating something from scratch, with little idea of how it will turn out etc.  You can’t fully appreciate what someone else has gone through to get that finished product.

So my advice to you today is this:  Have a go.  Just try.  You might be surprised!

Kel

x

Leave a comment