Slimline Finsbury Filofax: My Dad’s Birthday Gift

Hello Everyone!

My Dad is a Senior Manager within a large corporate company and he uses a cheap small diary (that is probably free from suppliers most of the time) to help him keep track of meetings and travel arrangements in his hectic worklife.

On his days off he has a Harley Davidson that he customises and takes to shows etc.  He’s  a huge Harley Davidson fan and I wanted to sort of… fuse the two lifestyles a little – show a little professionalism and yet a bit of personality to his working life.

So I thought a Filofax would be perfect for him.  I didn’t want to get him anything bigger or smaller than a binder that took Personal size papers (Pocket would be too small A5 too bulky for his Briefcase and Personal size papers are the most common – larger choice), so I had the choice of an original Personal, Compact or Slimline.  My dad isn’t much of a “clasp” fan either so I narrowed it down to a Slimline.

Looking around I really liked the look of the Slimline Holborn however I never got chance to see it in the flesh – however I came across the Slimline Finsbury in Staples – which I absolutely KNEW was the binder for my dad.  It was perfect.  Looking at the Personal Finsbury they seem really stiff however the Slimline is almost as malleable as my Malden, which I’m really pleased about. 

Image

 

When I got it home I couldn’t wait to get my vision into action!  

Image

When I first took it out of the box, it didn’t lay completely flat, but I wanted a “ready to go” feel for my dad to just “run with it”.  It hardly required training to stay flat, after flexing the binder a bit it’s really pliable and floppy 🙂

I added some original Filofax tabs from my own stash first of all, then began moving things around for his ease of use.

Image

 

Course, I couldn’t stop there, I felt inspired to make this a fantastic, personal present for him.  So, out came the cardstock, Mac scissors etc…

Image

 

And then I created this first of all:

Image

 

The Slimline Finsbury did not come with a ruler so out of thin cardstock and a printed Harley Davidson embelm I created my own… and then I couldn’t stop once I started:

Image

 

Once they were hole punched and placed in the Slimline Finsbury, they looked like this:

Image

 

Image

 

Not content with just the front page and the ruler being customised, I used the Harley Davidson embelm yet again to “watermark”all of the inserts!

Image

 

The pen I’ve got for him is the same style pen I use – Uniball Phantom, which is an erasable rollerball I found in WHSmiths.

I liked the Slimline Finsbury so much… I had to get myself one too!  Yep!  No idea what I’ll use it for but I just like looking at it…!  I’m sure I’ll find some use for it…

Until then.. Peace out!

Kel

x

 

 

The Filofax & Weight Tracking

Hi Everyone!

Last night I decided I was fed up using my iPhone to record my weight. To use the app I had, I needed to convert my stone to lbs, which was really annoying at best since I work and can easily understand stones.

I scoured the Philofaxy website for some kind of weight management tracker but to no avail – i could see the Weightwat hers meal records etc but no weight charts. being the visual person i am, i really needed something to look at so I considered requesting a template to be drawn up. Then something stopped me: why get others to do something that you can do for yourself?

I decided to create an undated weight chart for my filofax instead. Oh goodie! Another reason to open my planner 🙂

I created it in OpenOffice as I have a Mac, then copy and pasted it onto a document blank Filofax personal size paper template, then just printed out! I’ve done about 6 months worth, here’s a page 🙂

20130725-074725.jpg

What do you think? Basic, but it will do the trick… I’m using it already 🙂

What inserts have you made and why?

Kel

X