Why Use A Filofax?

Hi Everyone

Sometimes I stop thinking about what I want to change in my Filofax, and I simply revel in the knowledge that there is nothing I need more than to use it in the way it is intended – as a planner and an organiser.  

Whenever I take my Filofax out I am sometimes met with looks of surprise or a snigger.  These people, my friends, are slaves to the modern digital society – can’t think outside of the box, and more often than not, forget what it is their day is meant to achieve.

What I like about a Filofax is that it is not a boring digital app that everyone has the same of.  Sure, it may come to you with a set of dividers and inserts to start you off, but what you do with them is completely up to you.  With a Filofax, you don’t just get the set picture events for the dentist or vets or bills due out etc.  You get to purchase stickers, or draw, or write, or make your own way of labelling these events.  YOUR way.  It’s individual.  Nobody else will have one like you.  It’s all customised to your needs.

Another thing I like about Filofax is that in digital-world, apps are usually hidden behind other apps and a lock screen in your bag – they generally get forgotten about and only beep when they need you to already be somewhere (which, you’ll have needed to remember beforehand unless you were to create an event which says an hour or so in advance “Make sure to make your way to the dentist”.  With the Filofax, it can be open on your desk, coffee table, night stand, on the train, anywhere… and just by looking at the layout of your day you’ll know when things are happening.  In fact, you can take a look at the months, or the year, and see what you have planned out.  It does not get forgotten about if you take it everywhere with you and use it.

Yet another thing I like about Filofax, the inserts are so customisable.  If you don’t think the expense section is required in your Filofax, no problem!  Just whip them out!  If you need to create a custom insert to meet your needs, no problem!  There are downloadable printables, or a computer just at the end of your fingertips to just have a go with!  Not one part of your Filofax needs to go redundant at any time.  You can use it to set up YOUR life, not bound by anyone else’s idea of a “conventional” life.  You can jazz them up or keep them businesslike, whatever you do, keep it to your ever changing taste and requirements 🙂

Guess what?  Another thing I like about Filofax is that moving into another one is so simple – open rings, remove inserts from rings, place in new Filofax’s open rings, close rings.  And you’re done!  Don’t get me started in attempting to migrate all that stuff over on a phone…  I can’t even think where my USB lead is, and I seriously only found out how to work the Bluetooth on my MacBook yesterday haha!  

The final thing I want to share with you about what I love about my Filofax?  It’s the personal relationship you build with your paper life.  I guard my Filofax as heavily as I guard my MacBook and my iPhone.  Not because it’s got “naughty” stuff in there (which it hasn’t), but there are very raw and personal thoughts that I’ve taken the time to write/type down; very private thoughts that I sometimes refer to when I am feeling a little… well, delicate and I need a little comfort.  My goals I feel are extremely personal to me – some are shallow as they come, some are extremely deep and thoughtful.  I’m a really private person; I generally dislike people knowing what thoughts go around in my head in fear of being judged.  Well; my Filofax takes all of those thoughts and doesn’t judge.  

My Filofax is my very own Personal Assistant.  I’ve spoken to my new pal Kendall over at http://www.justagirlatl.blogspot.com about this (she is new to the Filofaxing world, she has her very own FF Saffiano PA named Dulce Berry, it’s so cute!) and I believe that if you can make friends with your PA, your PA will look after you without any employment drama or pay rise demands (unless, of course, you want to up the stakes with a Temperley or something).  Your PA can be whoever you want them to be – a Brown Cuban named Miguel who has a Mexican Moustache and looks like he’s dropped out of the 70’s.  A Scarlett Red Metropol called Marilyn that sashays around with 50’s bombshell starlet potential.  Your PA can have a name, can have a theme, can have whatever you want them to have.  

That being said, I’m currently eagerly awaiting my very own new PA… and she shall be named Daisy.  I should be receiving her very soon!  I will tell you more about her shortly 🙂

Stay tuned folks!

Kel

x